My Last Meal

My last meal would be a spread like mama use to make. You know the one that would make you walk for miles after school only to smell the aroma and the sound of pots when you open the door. There is nothing better than the smell of macaroni and cheese baking in the over with the cheese dripping over the sides of the pan. Dont forget about those candied yams, fried in butter with a sprinkle of cinnamon of nutmeg, burnt ever so slightly. I can see mama now standing in front of the stove with her red and white apron with one hand on her hip and the other stirring the green beans. Yes green beans with a little onion and seasoned just right. Yes that what I would like for me last meal. I can feel the hot corn bread on the tips of my fingers with butter slowly cascading down my hand. Now that what you call a last meal!!

4 thoughts on “My Last Meal

  1. I have never experienced that long walk but, I actually imagined the place and time when long walks from school to home existed along with the convenient aroma of an already prepared dinner. Good last meal and memory to have with it.

Leave a Reply

