English 150-G1: The Process of Composition

Welcome to “English 150-G1: The Process of Composition.”

The learning objectives of this course asks you, the student, to be able to demonstrate the following:

  • Your knowledge of writing, especially as it relates to focusing on a specific purpose and situation, responding to different audience needs, and using appropriate format and structure.
  • Your ability to integrate critical thinking, reading, and writing, especially as related to inquiry, thinking, communicating, and seeing the relationships among language, knowledge, and power.
  • Your competency in the writing process, including awareness of the need for multiple drafts; flexible strategies for generating, revising, editing, and proofreading your work; and the willingness to consider writing to be a process that is always open to revision.
  • Your knowledge of writing conventions, emphasizing common formats, genre conventions, APA style documentation and citation.
  • Your competence and correctness in syntax, grammar, spelling, punctuation, and usage.
  • Your ability to use electronic environments for drafting, reviewing, editing, and sharing texts.

This blog, as a result, serves as a virtual notebook to help you gain proficiency and build capacity and confidence in the writing process. We will explore more about how this blog will function in our course during Week 2 (Monday, September 10, 2012).

In the meantime, if you’d like to gain more insight into how blogging can help students improve and practice one’s writing, please check out the following short articles:

12 thoughts on “English 150-G1: The Process of Composition

    • Hi, Chris,

      If you email me or your professor, Dr. Agnew, we can help you post the first blog posting. If you can email me the link where you posted your draft via email, that would be a great first step.

      Hang in there! We’ll get this posting up yet.

      Kind regards,
      Kella

      • My family vacation to Jamaica was one of my family most memorable experiences. We left for our trip on February 26, 2009 on a cool Thursday morning at 10:00am. We shuffled into the St. Louis Airport with our luggage waiting for our flight to departure. While waiting the children took potty breaks and I grabbed me a hot cup of wake up that was strong and bitter which was not a taste of delight. Our flight took off at 12:45pm and lasted for eternity. I kept looking out the window for the next eight hours thinking are we there yet. My legs turned lifeless and weak upon me standing at the end of the flight. We picked up our luggage at Jamaica International Airport and hitched a ride with the first white minivan cabbie we could to our hotel.

      • Chris, I would be happy to show you how to post your first paragraph as a blog posting and not just a comment. If you don’t know my email address, please contact your professor, Dr. Agnew. Thanks! -Michaella

      • Mrs. Vickie I’m sorry for posting on your page. I’m still learning my way around and I really appreciate your help. I have three children my youngest was a newbie my son was ten and my oldest daughter was fifteen.

Leave a Reply

